Our first fight

London and I have been dating for a little over a week now and it has been absolute bliss. Everyday is something new and exciting to see or discover. Even the little quirks that would bother most people I can overlook because I’m enamored with this city. But, like all relationships, the honeymoon phase can’t last forever. Friday afternoon, London and I had our first fight.

I’ve been incredibly lucky to be given the opportunity to intern (unofficially and unpaid of course) while I’m here in London at BBN. This entire past week I had plans to meet with my boss, for all intent and purposes, on Friday afternoon for coffee near her office. I knew this meant taking the tube by myself for the first time. I routed my trip and knew exactly where I needed to be, and what line to take. As soon as I got to my platform, they announced that ALL eastbound trains would be delayed indefinitely due to maintenance.The-Office-gifs-the-office-14948948-240-196

Perfect! The first time I take the tube on my own this would happen.

My simple, 20 minute tube ride turned into an hour-and-a-half journey and 3 tube rides in the most round about way. It was so stressful because all of a sudden HUNDREDS of people are all trying to do the same thing. And I had no reception down in the tube to call my boss and tell her I was running late. Half way through I got a hold of her and told her what was going on. Although she was really cool about it, it didn’t make my situation any less confusing and stressful. I’m trying to read this tube map, Standard Tube map

and ask attendants for help but every time I’d get to the next checkpoint, the tube I needed to take had broken down and I was then re-routed.

I was standing in the middle of a random station, by myself, angry and confused. I wanted to scream! And at that moment, I hated the city. In the moment London was cold, unfriendly, annoying, and frustrating. But in the moment, I had no option other than to figure it out. And I did.

I got where I needed to be and my meeting with my boss was lovely. She showed me around her office, where I’ll be sitting, and we discussed so many exciting opportunities I have this semester while working for her. On my way out of her office, London was waiting for me right outside the front entrance.

But much, much closer!

But much, much closer!

As angry as I had been at him just a few hours prior, how could I not forgive  after a gesture like that?

After a really great Friday night at the Union bar, London and I are back on track. There are undoubtedly still some growing pains ahead, but I think London’s worth it 🙂

Leave a comment